Configure file transfer to a server
To configure remote file transfer for an RD Session Host, Provider, or Remote PC, do the following:
In the Parallels RAS Console, select the Farm category and then select a desired server type (RD Session Host, Provider, Remote PCs) in the middle pane.
Right-click a desired server in the right pane and choose Properties.
Select the Agent Settings tab.
Select the Allow file transfer command option and click the Configure button. A dialog opens where you can specify remote file transfer options as described below.
In the Direction drop-down list, select one of the following:
Client to server only: Transfer files from client to server only.
Server to client only: Transfer files from server to client only.
Bidirectional: Transfer files in both directions.
In the Location field, specify a UNC path to a folder to be used as the default upload location. This path will also be used as the default source location when a user tries to download a file from a remote server. You can select from one of the locations predefined in the drop-down list or you can specify your own. Standard Windows environment variables, such %USERNAME%, %USERDOMAIN%, %USERPROFILE%, can be used. If the location is not found during an upload or download operation, the standard (default) download location will be used.
The Do not allow to change location option prohibits the user to change the UNC path specified in the Location field. If the option is enabled, the user cannot select a different location while trying to upload or download a file. If the option is cleared, the user can specify a different location.
Important: Please note that the Do not allow to change location option cannot prevent the user from accessing the specified remote location directly. For example, a user can try to upload a file, note the default location's UNC path (to which he/she has access), then open it in File Explorer and copy it to any folder in his/her profile. To prevent such a scenario from happening, you need to implement additional measures to control locations other than the location that you specify here.
Suppress prompt for upload files: Select this option to upload files immediately, without displaying a confirmation prompt for each individual file. When the option is cleared (default), the user is asked to confirm every file upload. Enabling this option also makes the Existing file mode drop-down list available. Existing file mode: Specifies how an uploaded file is handled when a file with the same name already exists in the target location. This option is available only when Suppress prompt for upload files is enabled. Select one of the following:
Create new file: the uploaded file is saved under a new, unique name and the existing file is kept.
Overwrite existing file: the existing file is replaced with the uploaded file.
Close transfer window when complete: Select this option to automatically close the file transfer window once all transfers have finished. When the option is cleared (default), the transfer window stays open after completion so the user can review the results.
Last updated